18 July 2024 / 6 pm / GR/Sweetwater County Library

Attendees

SWCDP Chair: M. Jensen, SWCDP Vice Chair: M. Shaffer, SCM: D. Furgason, Treasurer: A. Cable. Precinct: J. Barbuto, J. Wilson, M. Green. Community: J. Kessock.

The business meeting was called to order at 6:14 and adjourned at 7:24 Motion to approve Agenda by A. Cable and seconded by J. Barbuto. Motion carried. Motion to adjourn A. Cable. Motion accepted.

Secretary's Report

Motion to approve Secretary's report by J. Barbuto and seconded by J. Wilson. Motion carried.

Treasurer's Report

Motion to approve Treasurer's report by D. Furgason and seconded by J. Wilson. Motion carried.

Old Business

The Vice Chair position became vacant in late May. J. Wilson nominated M. Shaffer and A. Cable seconded. M. Shaffer accepted the nomination. J. Barbuto motioned to close nominations. Chair accepted. M. Shaffer was voted in as the Sweetwater County Democratic Party Vice Chair unanimously.

Chair Jensen spoke about voter engagement briefly. The recent unlawful placement of signs by Republicans spurred interest within the Democratic party.

Chair Jensen mentioned the importance of the Collaborative Campaign. J. Barbuto motioned to allow the Sweetwater County Democratic Party to fund any Sweetwater County Democratic candidate wanting to participate in the Collaborative Campaign. A. Cable seconded. The motion passed.

New Business

Chair Jensen spoke about the need to reteach members about voter engagement and began with asking attendees how they learned about candidates; which method was their preference and which method they disliked. Chair Jensen then asked which method members would be most comfortable doing during this election season.

Members then discussed signage and other materials available and referred the decision to the executive committee.

Action Items

- 1. Put the next meeting in RS on the calendar.
- 2. Commit to run for office or volunteering for a campaign.
- 3. Commit to volunteering for events.